My past walked by me…

… and I didn’t notice — or not until the opportunity had gone.

In 1971, when I was 27, I started work at The Illawarra Grammar School in Wollongong, staying until the end of 1974 when I returned to the state school system (Wollongong High). A much loved colleague there was John Traas, the foreign languages teacher, whom I mention (with Jim Belshaw) in comments on Alex Buzo, Australian playwright, dies (August 2006).

Jim Belshaw
August 18, 2006 at 6:17 am | #3 Quote

Thanks, Neil. I am glad you enjoyed the post. On Hoxha, Alex’s dad’s exact words as I recall them were that Hoxha was the type of boy who used to pull the wings off flies! Re your comment on New England, Australia, yes I did know John Traas. If I remember correctly, and it’s a long time ago, he had the misfortune to try to teach me French. The school was trying to encourage languages and gave a 25 per cent mark bonus in exams. I think my final French mark was 13 per cent including the bonus!.

Owner
August 18, 2006 at 8:10 am | #4 Quote

Thanks, Jim. John Traas was one of the most interesting people I ever met, and a great humanist.

Jim Belshaw
August 18, 2006 at 12:35 pm | #5 Quote

Now that’s interesting Neil. Based on what you said, I assume that it is the same John, one of the problems for teachers, if problem is the right word, is that their students see them in one dimension. I see John in the mid school classroom in front of me, as a teacher, not a person.

Down in Wollongong on Tuesday John walked right by me.

Definitely this is John Traas

I didn’t realise until I checked my photos later on in Kiama! Kicking myself now, as I wish I had spoken to him.

And part of Jim Belshaw’s past as well!

One thought on “My past walked by me…

Comments are closed.