Once in a blue moon

I was awake for some reason in the wee hours this morning. From The Bates Motel window I saw…

moon30aug

P8310693

See Once in a blue moon. But it’s tomorrow you get to see the “blue” moon…

… but don’t let the name mislead you – the moon won’t be shining blue.

The lunar event, a blue moon, occurs when two full moons are squeezed into a calendar month.

Astrophysicist Dr Stephen Hughes says the quirk in our calendar means the event happens about seven times in 19 years, which is about once every two-and-a-half years….

I missed Episode 3 of Go Back to Where You Came From last night, because I was having a long chat and a wine or two with an Iranian neighbour. But I can see remaining encore episodes on SBS TWO – Friday and Saturday at 9:30pm.

Have you tried the quiz?

