SBHS ex-students in the news, and pleasant Sunday in Illawarra

SBHS ex-students in the news

In a good way.

Jeremy Heimans (1995) has been in Sydney for TedX.

ipad-art-wide-a6-20jeremy-20heimans-420x0

See also my June 2011 post GETUP AUSTRALIA–CAMPAIGNS, PETITIONS, ACTIVISM.

Jack Manning Bancroft (2002) is on Australian Story tonight.

r947138_10075776

The pictures link to the stories. On Jack see my 2008 post Fantastic, but another reason to feel old!

Pleasant Sunday afternoon in Illawarra

P5270128

P5270126

Lunch at City Diggers

Met ex-TIGS (1975) student Ian Turton – and his son!

P5270131

Music at Illawarra Brewery

Update

Just saw the program about Jack. Inspiring, and he is inspirational. I did have an Extension English class for Yr 12 in Jack’s year but he wasn’t in that class – though some pretty amazing kids were, as happens at SBHS. But we (ex) teachers really do know our place: so often we really are humbled by the humanity that passes through our hands, as it were, and what we contribute is never all that clear. Even so, with no real justification I guess, I couldn’t help but feel proud about what I saw tonight – and cheered to see something we so often have regarded as an intractable problem yielding to this young man’s vision. There’s hope there eh!

ALICIA JOHNSON, AIME MENTEE: What I think makes AIME so good is it was developed and created by an Indigenous youth, for Indigenous youth. And other people ask me about the program and ask me about my involvement and I just said, "It’s made for us, pretty much by us and that’s why I believe it’s so successful." It’s not someone trying to save us. It’s not someone trying to tell us what to do; it’s about giving us self determination and hope.

IAN THORPE, ‘FOUNTAIN FOR YOUTH’ CHARITY: I think Jack probably has a plan that we have to get Australia right first and then why not AIME in Africa, why not AIME in other countries that have similar problems? I think, for someone like Jack Manning Bancroft, and I think, you know the world really is his oyster. He could be doing anything.

JACK MANNING BANCROFT: It’s pretty humbling to see what AIME has done for a lot of different people. Personally, I think that it doesn’t make sense today that an Australian kid who is Indigenous doesn’t have the same chances that every other Australian kid has. And until I can see an Australia where that happens, I don’t think I’ll be happy or satisfied.

Transcript

