2011 retrospective–2—February

I ended February in the cardiac ward at Wollongong Hospital. A neighbour of mine who was helpful at that time was Paul the Poet, himself no stranger to the hospital as he was on renal dialysis there three times a week. Paul passed away on Saturday night. Rest in Peace.

paulg

“This guy Paul used to sit outside the 7eleven store on King Street in Newtown and for a very small consideration he would recite a little poem…. I just thought he was wonderful…. he was quite ill at the time and on some kind of benefit which really wasn’t enought to live on so when he felt up to it he would get out on the street and earn a few more dollars…. so much better than begging although it was still kind of heartbreaking that he had to do it… and yet his poems where really fabulous and it always brightened up my day to see him about….” – Juilee Pryor

So he ended his days living here at The Bates Motel.

I began February with How to pick a climate site that’s not worth reading, the Queensland floods causing quite a bit of talk about climate and weather. Down here at The Bates Motel it was very hot.

On 4 February I had One of THOSE conversations. Worth a look. (Happy Christmas to Kevin, my old mate from Louisiana!) We’d cooled down here by 7 February and I managed to combine spelling and climate science in Whether the weather would affect the wether….

Change of topic in Inclusive multiculturalism Aussie style revisited on 8 February and the next day I reported on Waleed Aly’s great new talk show: Talk show without ego.

Since Waleed is a Muslim I hope he appreciates a comparison with Rumi, because watching the show made me think of this:

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing,
there is a field. I’ll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that grass,
the world is too full to talk about.
Ideas, language, even the phrase “each other” doesn’t make any sense.

mevlana jelaluddin rumi – 13th century

Then a change of pace: Canberra 1954 and This is The Gong on 11 February, continuing the next day.

I also posted with some interesting video of my own time at SBHS Why armchair pontificating about Islam annoys me.

The Canberra theme continued for several days. Then Immigration took off as a topic leading me to post, among other things, Ozzi Multi: dynamism, vitality, colour!

Then came 22 February: Tears, fears and prayers for Christchurch. Also I posted that day Where are the loons of yesteryear? Tracked down at least one, chatting to Lord Monckton:

24 February saw Spot on, Maralyn Parker! on education, something I haven’t blogged about as much as I used to.

On 27 February my ACER Laptop showed signs of death, and then the next day I did much the same… Winking smile But not before posting Feb 2011 good for this blog in the morning. By the afternoon I was here:

