Oh Lordie, Lordie! I am posting from Carbon Central NSW and the sky…

… is still there.

Indeed The Illawarra Mercury leads today with a far more exciting story.

ghost

The carbon tax did feature a few days back, as an incidental:

coal1

coal

Last night The Hamster Wheel captured just how stupid, how marred by overheated brains – or total lack of brains – this whole “debate” became and how thoroughly sick of it we all were by now.


No, the sky hasn’t fallen in down here at Carbon Central, and it probably won’t any time soon.


16 thoughts on “Oh Lordie, Lordie! I am posting from Carbon Central NSW and the sky…

  1. Sorry to hear about your tax on carbon dioxide production :(. The good news is that it won’t take effect for a while. You’ve probably got at least 15-18 months before it begins to make Australian products uncompetitive. And there’s every possibility that Abbott will take the reigns before then and stave off your self-inflicted decline.

    I’m rooting for you, second coolest country in the world!

  2. Good news! I sold my BHP Billiton stock at much less of a loss than expected. Additionally, I shorted it at $77.50 $US. So I’m going to make a bit of money off of your hara kiri. Billiton won’t survive your carbon histrionics. At least not unscathed. I get to benefit from it.

    I’ve never been so confident of a long-term short. Thanks Julia! And thanks Neil, for supporting such a backwards law.

  3. Thanks! But I really don’t need the accolades. Don’t get me wrong, Neil. I’m grateful for them. I sincerely appreciate your congratulations. In fact, I’d like to reciprocate and grant you an award as the only person on the planet who thinks that taxing energy is a good idea. There. Now we both have been congratulated.

    But right now, I’m more concerned with BHP Billiton. I’m less confident that I was on Thursday when I made the opposite of a purchase. I planned a 15+ month short sale, but it’s only 4 days in and I’m caving! It’s just too much money. And if by some freak occurrence it jumps to $150, I’ve lost every penny I put into it… (hey, what’s that ‘follow’ button with the plus sign next to it in the lower right hand corner?) that’s unacceptable. I think I’m going to cave before BHP drops to zero :(.

    Hey, we can put videos in the comments?! Let me try.

  4. Your reading of BHP Billiton is far too influenced by matters of less significance than you seem to realize.

    ‘Splain please? I’ve wagered a large chunk of our net worth on Billliton’s inevitable demise because of the tax that will take effect a year from now. I’m panicking and thinking that I may have done it too early. But I’m always panicking. It’s the plight of an early adopter. That said, if you have any inside info on that company, I hope you’ll share it, despite the fact that we are diametrically opposed, ideologically.

    I’ve got a kid in Cornell now, and another entering college in less than 2 yrs. If you imagine the poorest person in the world, we’re currently like him. Inside info is much appreciated.

    Also, taxing energy is the least intelligent thing I can think of. Taxing arm hair or perhaps colors would be more stupid, but even labor wouldn’t do that. Or would they?

    • Who knows what these corporate types have for breakfast, but a year ago BHP Billiton was ” urging the Gillard government to impose a tax on carbon before any international agreement..”

      Mr Kloppers’s call for a carbon tax undermines the passionate objections of Tony Abbott to setting a price on carbon before there is a global consensus.

      “We do believe that such a global initiative will eventually come and, when it does, Australia will need to have acted ahead of it to maintain its competitiveness,” Mr Kloppers told a packed Australian British Chamber of Commerce lunch in Sydney.

      “Carbon emissions need to have a cost impact in order to cause the consumer and companies to change behaviour and favour low-carbon alternatives.

      “We all recognise this is a politically charged subject. No government relishes telling people that things need to cost more.”

      So heaven knows what political games they’ll play next year.

      Second point: just how much of BHP Billiton actually depends on what happens in Australia? Not nearly as much as used to be.

      The value of the US dollar and things happening in China are probably far more significant than our actually quite piss weak carbon tax.

  5. Thanks. I’m betting on a falling US $, so all is well on that front. In fact, I’ve based most of my decision to sell short Billiton on the very statement you’ve quoted. If they believe what they said, then they’ll get burned and I’ll make serious money.

    On the other hand, if they take this opportunity to skip out of Australia as I would, I could get burned. Australia will get burned regardless, thanks to Julia. I have to be honest and say that I don’t care as much about you Aussies than I do about my family. So I repeat – any inside info on them is appreciated.

    Regarding your “quite piss weak carbon tax”, it should be noted that no taxes are imposed at full desired force in the beginning. You know the poem… At first they came for the Slovakians, but I didn’t care. I was only 1/6th Slovakian.

    Wait, is that how it went?

  6. Haha, you jerk Neil. You’ve got me scared now. I was planing on a ~18 month short sale, but now you’ve worried me that BHP might just move operations away from Australia. They’re a very well run company.

    So instead of 18 months, I’m bailing after two business days. What a wuss, huh? Still, $75.37/share. Not bad. Remind me not to share my stock picks here. You’ll just turn me into a coward again.

    Martin on October 17, 2011 at 12:26 pm said:
    Get thee behind me, Kevin!

    Sorry, I don’t do that sort of thing with men, Martin. Still, I hope you find your special someone.

  7. Wwwahhhhh. $74.61 now. But ti’s too late. I sold it at $75.38. *grumble*

    In any event, I should say that I don’t believe it’s dropping right now because of Julia’s evil tax on energy. It’s just normal ebb and flow stuff.

  8. $73.24/share. I should be blaming myself, but I’m totally blaming you Neil! That’s $1,284 of unrealized profit. And that’s $US, which is like $1.71 bazillion AU.

    Ok, I’ll stop spamming your website with whines now, but rest assured that I’m continuing to whine offline.

Comments are closed.