Two footnotes or updates: but not trivial

1. Update to GetUp Australia–campaigns, petitions, activism

The post where I trod on some toes over the idealism involved in the founding of GetUp Australia. Well today my Quote of the Week – if I had such a thing – would come from GetUp founder (and SBHS ex-student) Jeremy Heimans, who took the following pic in New York City:

po7u

Of course you don’t need to be told this is about this:

In the mid-1980s, when I was in college, what concerned and frustrated my peers and me was how few states had basic statutes forbidding discrimination against gay men and lesbians: laws that merely prevented someone from being denied a job or apartment on the basis of whom he or she loved. At that point only Wisconsin and the District of Columbia provided such protection.

Same-sex marriage? I don’t recall our talking – or dreaming – much about that. We considered ourselves realists. Sometimes idealists. But never fantasists…

— Frank Bruni

But that’s not the Quote of the Week. This is – Jeremy Heimans on Facebook:

It’s great to be a progressive – we get to extend rights, not deny them. And we do it with such joy.

See also Technology is a great tool – but it is people that will change politics by Jeremy Heimans and Tim Dixon.

2. Update to About last night’s “Send them back…” and Paul Sheehan

Oh dear: I’ll be watching Australia’s Got Talent again tomorrow night, I’m afraid.

Meanwhile please note while I shout: **** I LIKE TODAY’S PAUL SHEEHAN PIECE! *****. As an evocative bit of writing, that is. On the other hand “Minchin, Eric Abetz (who replaced Minchin as leader of the opposition in the Senate), Cory Bernardi, Mathias Cormann, Michaelia Cash, Brett Mason and the Victorian federal MP Kevin Andrews” are for me so many reasons why voting Liberal at the last election was a total no-no. 

Oh — do visit the photo blog:

CIMG5985a

4 thoughts on “Two footnotes or updates: but not trivial

  1. Neil, would you accept an email comment from me on this post of yours? We have more in common than you may presently believe, and I have no wish to be confrontational. I would be genuinely interested in your views on my own present thoughts which are possibly too lengthy for a reasonable comment thread – although you can feel free to repost in whole or part, at your discretion or, of course, not respond at all.

    And just to finish on a pleasant note on this beautiful day – you have a very good eye for a lovely photograph. Wollongong has always been a lovely place to visit; particularly the north foreshores and the boat harbour – and you capture it very well.

  2. By all means use the email me tab above, David. I’d certainly be interested. How I respond will depend on time and energy, among other things.

  3. Well – I sent it, but all formatting seems to have disappeared. I apologise for that; perhaps a large scotch or two before attempting to untangle, or email me direct for a more readable layout.

Comments are closed.