Scans worth preserving–5: Christisons 1–my mother’s family

See also: Scans worth preserving–2: re Sophia Jane Christison 1858-1952; Being Australian 16: inclusive multiculturalism Aussie style 9 – my tribes; Family matters.

In that last post I reviewed “Leonie Knapman’s Joadja Creek, which I [had] just borrowed from Wollongong Library, [including] some excellent pics of my great-great-grandfather and great-grandfather.”

CIMG5145

David and Catherine Christison – my great-great-grandparents.

Some years ago now I wrote in Family stories 2 — About the Christisons:

My maternal great-grandfather, John Hampton Christison. A bit Byronic in several ways by all accounts. This picture was taken in the late 1880s. He was an interesting character who published a book on Scottish dancing and etiquette. (Christison, JH. (1882), Manual of Dancing and Etiquette, 793.4 C. Mitchell Library, Sydney.) He was born in Scotland. (5th May 1858, Brechin, Angus, Scotland; married Sophia Jane Lillie in Australia 1880.) I had always thought John Christison was born in Australia. His father was David Christison(1828-1905) who was born in Fife, Scotland, and died 11th November 1905 at Joadja Creek, NSW, now a ghost town. He was in his later years a Lamp Lighter for Mittagong Council. John certainly took his family back to Scotland, around the time these photos were taken, in Maitland NSW, in fact, and I suspect before departure sometime in the later 1880s. One winter was enough to persuade them to return to Australia. My grandfather Roy remembered the locals in Inverurie (or was it Inverbervie?) calling out to them, “Kiltie, kiltie cold bum” as they swanned down the street in this gear.

New scans of the photos referred to there:

johnhc

John Christison

roychild

Roy Christison

Not seen here before are these two:

brechin1

David Christison, father of John, in Scotland

brechin

Brechin: where David C lived.

More Christison pics to come.

