Freaking people out

Freaking out Kevin from Louisiana…

My most faithful commenter and sparring partner would have had some kind of conniption had he seen the social pages in today’s Illawarra Mercury, the Wollongong daily.

Oh multicultural Oz, what a wonder you are!

Freaking Tony Abbott — or Tony Abbott freaking the rest of us

It’s the second half that matters. I have never seen anything like it in Australian politics.

I don’t see it as “dignified silence.” I read it as a strong desire, only just repressed, to strangle the reporter with his microphone cord.

I am no fan of Tony, but the story was sleazy and trivial and his anger quite understandable.

13 thoughts on “Freaking people out

  1. I’m at a loss to understand why photos of Australians would freak me out. Personally, I am a big fan of photos where people are smiling.

  2. Nah. I don’t equate hijabs with the misogyny of islam. Lots of women cover their hair. If there were photos with the women’s faces covered, I’d be alarmed.

      • Neil, I don’t have a nervous breakdown when I see this. More accurately, you have a nervous breakdown whenever someone admits the misogyny involved in such a photo.

        Face masks by force are a bad thing, no matter what you say. Get over it.

  3. It’s hard to say when a civil war begins, Neil. An Australian citizen, Feiz Muhammad has called for beheadings of non-believers. Is that the beginning? Or is the beginning when an actual person is killed, like Theo Van Gogh in die Nederlanden? Or do you wait ’till the different factions align on the battlefield?

    Who knows. Good question though. We should all give it some thought.

  4. We should all give thought to distinguishing the maddies from the majority in Islam, as in anything else.

    The best of God’s servants are those who, when seen, remind one of God; and the worst of God’s servants are those who carry tales about to do mischief and separate friends, and seek for the defects of the good.

    Kindness is a mark of faith, and whoever has not kindness has not faith.

    From the Hadith.

  5. …the misogyny involved in such a photo.

    Did it occur to you that this otherwise remarkably normal mother may have chosen to dress like that?

  6. Tony Abbott’s behaviour was menacingly aggressive in a way quite consistent with his persona and history (those of us of the right vintage remember the “Harrowing of Wentworth” after he won an SRC election). So yes, it is understandable as to its source and his display of it, but not understandable in the sense “justifiable.” Abbott could still turn into Latham if he isn’t careful.

    As for “shit happens,” I don’t see it as making light of the death of a soldier and I’m not at all worried personally by his saying that. But the “shit happens” and the action-man stuff is part of his faux I’m-a-regular-guy persona. He’s quite happy to catch opponents out on similar “authenticities” which can be read adversely if it suits him – that’s politix.

    Nor do I think Abbott just went to Afghanistan to support the soldiers. He went there to garner the military-patriotic vote.

Comments are closed.