Family matters

1. Christison: my mother’s family

In Leonie Knapman’s Joadja Creek, which I have just borrowed from Wollongong Library, are some excellent pics of my great-great-grandfather and great-grandfather.

CIMG5145

David and Catherine Christison – my great-great-grandparents.

The librarian claimed she could see a family resemblance. Can you?

Picture0011

And here is the rather Byronic John, my great-grandfather.

CIMG5147

Another of my family history pages tells, in her own words, my mother’s memories of the village of Spencer on the Hawkesbury River. Lately this comment appeared:

I am absolutely thrilled to have found your blog. I am publicity officer for the Spencer Progress Association and we are about to publish the 3rd edition of “River Ramblings” a new newsletter/”paper”. For the next edition we have interviewed Spencer’s oldest living resident, a wonderful 98 year old woman, who has lived in the community since she was 14. I would like to your permission to post a link to your blog, plus ask if we may use your photograph for the paper. Unfortunately the deadline is Wednesday, Dec 1st 2010. — Marguerite Svendsen.

Unfortunately I only just noticed this. Sorry, Marguerite.

2. Whitfield

My distant relative Bob Starling, family historian par excellence, continues, along with others, to add value to the pages I devote to the Whitfield family.

I have sighted the “Thames” Ship Surgeon’s Report which reveals that there were two deaths of Whitfield children during the voyage – James Whitfield took ill 12/2/1826 and died on 17/2/1826 aged 12 – Ann Whitfield took ill on 22/1/1826 and died on 21/3/1826 aged 9. The Report is extremely difficult to read but there is no doubt that the two Whitfield children died and were buried at sea as were 13 other unfortunate passengers. There was also a death of a person whos name looks like Mary McGowry. There has been previous research of a person named Mary Gowry, wife of Jacob Whitfield. I will have a closer look at the Report on my next visit to the Mitchell Library. As Jacob applied to being his wife Mary and 6 children to NSW, It could well be that the six have been identified as Mary, Judith, Catherine, William, James and Ann although I am still not convinced that Judith and Catherine were Jacob and Mary’s children as I have not been able to locate a marriage or a death of these two persons. Bearing in mind that Jacob made a further application to bring 2 more children to NSW in 1848, a John aged 40 and family and a Joseph aged 38 and family, but they did not come, it tends to lean support to my theory that Judith and Catherine have been mistakenly identified as children of Jacob and Mary. Still more work to be done on either including or excluding Judith and Catherine from the Whitfield family.

Quite a sad story emerging there. Thanks, Bob. Smile

One thought on “Family matters

  1. Pingback: Scans worth preserving–5: Christisons 1–my mother’s family | Neil's final decade

Comments are closed.