My fickle templates and other notes

Template

WordPress has been churning out new template after new template, and yes I try each one. You don’t always see the result. This time, however, having seen the current one working brilliantly on the photo blog I decided to try it here.

Many, on the other hand, had expressed support for the previous template with its neatly grouped post summaries that reduced scrolling down considerably. Not wanting to sacrifice that aspect, I have compromised with the top sticky post of recent weeks. Hope the compromise works for you.

Reasons for finally choosing this are: 1) appearance – I like it; 2) the blockquote feature works in the comments; 3) potential for images.

CIMG4409

One of my better recent shots.

Not possible in the other template.

I was amused by Legal Eagle’s comment, however:

You’ve changed the look again! My daughter is standing behind me and says, “It looks very grey – why?” I’m not sure if that’s a vote of confidence from her or not.

Back to the 1950s

am030a

Les has been going through Graham’s things – you may recall that my friend Graham, Les’s partner of 28 years, passed away last month.

Les found some remarkable things.

Graham had a collection of 78 rpm records, which of course just stayed  in the cupboard for years. However about a year ago I bought a USB turntable that plays them, so I have been busying copying them to CD. Amongst the disks were a few personal treasures: uncle Harry Little singing music hall songs; Sydney Tech High School choir conducted by Alan Whitehurst; and an entire 33 rpm album of school choirs, including Sydney Boys High and Fort St. I am supposing that this dates to the later 1950s, since that is when Graham was teaching at Fort St. (He recognised the choir conductor’s name.)

I don’t know if you are old enough to remember any of this. The conductor of the Sydney Boys choir was named Billington. I didn’t get very far this process till recently, on account of needing so much time to look after Graham. But I did manage to play the Harry Little recording to him.

On the record Sydney Boys High are singing "Negro Spirituals arr. by the conductor": Deep River, Steal Away, ‘Tis Me O Lord, Ev’ry Time I Feel The Spirit. I’ve no idea what the occasion was that led to this recording. The other schools are Cremorne Girls’ High, North Sydney Girls’ High, Fort St Boy’s High, Hornsby Girls’ High, Sydney Technical High, Parramatta Secondary Home Science School. This last name limits the period to 1953-1958 according to Wikipedia.

Well I know the occasion…

It was a Sydney Town Hall concert in 1957, and I was in that choir, looking rather like the 1955 photo of myself above!

One thought on “My fickle templates and other notes

Comments are closed.