Musing on my Anzac Day experience this year

As you know, I resolved to join the Anzac March in Wollongong this year to represent my father. My brother tells me he made a point of attending the Dawn Service in Devonport, Tasmania, where he lives. It was a much more profound experience than I had expected, and a very pleasing one too.

I had intended to find an RAAF section to march with, but the march was organised in RSL sub-branches or other groups. I wound up with a bunch of “Nashos” – my brother was a Nasho – all slightly older than I and representing all three services, though the Army predominated.

right

mix

During the march

P4250528

At the end of the march

1844327 (1)

Part of the fly-past of vintage aircraft (Illawarra Mercury)

At the Diggers Club afterwards I had a number of great conversations with younger people who had served in the Solomon Islands and Timor Leste.

And here is another perspective on the day:

