My blog supplements–nay, replaces!–my memory

It occurred to me this morning that it’s six years since I moved over to WordPress from Blogspot. That first blog is rather clumsily named Floating Life 4/06 ~ 11/07.

Six years!

And to think that change marks a kind of halfway in my blogging career to date, as a quick check of my Sitemeter shows:

smeterdate

And I’d been going one place or another for about a year before I discovered Sitemeter.

Why Floating Life? Why “Ninglun”?

The blog title is an allusion to a Chinese book: Shen Fu’s Six Chapters (Records) of a Floating Life, a beautiful book from 18th century China — lovingly brought into the present in Nicholas Jose’s The Red Thread. The name “Ninglun” is a Mandarin approximation of my real name (Neil); I like it because it happens to mean “peaceful discussion”. Even if my rants are at times a touch loud…

Check out April 2006.

sealRats

Posted on April 6, 2006

One of the delights of reading Ruth Park’s autobiographies is the insight they offer into her novels. The rat, for instance, that in Fishing in the Styx(1993) sits on a window-sill, ‘a composed leisurely rat . . . murderous as Set, a kitten-eater’, the sneering and frightening but not otherwise harming rat we’ve already met in The Harp in the South [1948] nibbling a baby. It is ferociously murdered by the child’s mother, the young and once more pregnant Roie, but not before it has run up under her skirt and needed to be beaten off. When Roie dies in childbirth shortly afterwards the reader remembers the rat and lives the horror of it all over again.

I can assure Marion Halligan that the descendants of that rat are alive and well and have been causing havoc on my front balcony and in the garden fronting Belvoir Street.

Perhaps building work at the Belvoir Theatre has made them move down the road a piece?

Anyway, I have taken to leaving nasty surprises for them. Last night two packets were taken. I await results.

Back from Redfern

Posted on April 7, 2006

You might recall that I had a holter fitted for 24 hours a while back; I am just back from the Redfern doctor where I got the results: nothing too unusual for someone over sixty. An occasional double heart-beat, and a few other minor irregularities. I was amazed to learn my heart-rate over that day ran from minimum 47 per minute to maximum 120!

Lord Malcolm is back in hospital, but hopefully not for long.

I had a late breakfast at Di CazBar Cafe on the corner of Redfern Street and Chalmers Street, with a pleasant outlook of Redfern Park. I kind of like Redfern despite all the bad publicity. Di CazBar does a mean porridge.

How time has flown!